OUR CHEFS

THEIR VISION & COMMITMENTS

Louis Rameau

"Le Jardin de Berne*" Chef

 "Nature is sovereign at Château de Berne and it's the cornerstone of my cuisine. Every day, the Château vegetable garden offers up new gifts that I strive to honour in my dishes. Our fresh produce is already as good as it gets – all I have to do is embellish it a little to obtain seasonal dishes that are as close as possible to nature."

For a nature lover like Louis, Château de Berne is a limitless, rich and inspiring playground. He started working at the Berne kitchen in April 2016 before taking over the helm in early 2020, and today expresses his boundless talent and creativity through simple and authentic cuisine that shines the spotlight on local produce and Provence's envied lifestyle.

Louis immediately fell in love with Château de Berne's natural charms and vowed to honour the wealth of organic local fruit and vegetables offered by the Château vegetable garden and orchards, given pride of place on the menu of "Le Jardin de Benjamin" in every season - a genuine back-to-nature experience that delights him and allows his creativity to run wild: Haut-Var saffron pistils adorn the plate one day, while Piedmont vinegar exalts flavours the next. "I try to do as well as nature and better if possible, but that tends to be complicated", he confesses with a broad smile. Louis' team vision of success and his unfailing respect for his people and produce form the beating heart of his cuisine.

Eric Raynal

Pastry Chef

 "When I was little I wanted to be a train driver. At the end of the day, I'm not that far off. I aim to lead guests on a voyage with culinary pleasures as their destination."

Éric freely admits he's always wanted to work at Château de Berne. And in just a few years, he has forged himself a place of honour here as one of the Château's most inspired contributors. It only took him one season to be promoted to Pastry Chef in 2016 and prove that "everything is possible when you're willing to work for it".

From the very friendly "Le Bistrot" to the refined "Le Jardin de Berne*", Éric is a master of everything sweet and strives to honour the spirit of the site and its natural beauty. A lover of the local soil, he gives pride of place to homegrown produce and has also started growing some unusual citrus fruit of his own, including kaffir lime, finger lime and citron. He constantly pushes back the limits of his creativity and culinary ambitions – and those of the local producers. "Light on sugar and powerful in taste, my desserts are in pace with the seasons and our garden", explains this demanding Chef now at the head of a team of expert pâtissiers - not cooks, as Éric likes to point out. "It makes a huge difference to the final result", he adds with enthusiasm.

2020 marked an outstanding achievement for Éric, who swept up an award in the Michelin Guide's "Passion Desert" category.

Matthieu Wanlin

"Le Bistrot" Chef

Chef Matthieu Wanlin has been heading up "Le Bistrot" since March 1st, 2017. Committed to handing down the emotions that forged his love of the profession, he pampers guests with generous and classic farm-to-table cuisine made for sharing.

He joined the Château de Berne teams in April 2016, bringing with him his very personal vision of gastronomy: "traditional and regional but spiked with exotic touches". Matthieu draws his inspiration from the heart of nature. He takes pride in honouring the produce he gathers every morning and is determined to fight against food wastage. "Nothing is lost, everything has a use", he professes with pride. His signature is also his gift for presentation: his dishes are a crescendo of fresh produce, dazzling colours and inspiring aromas. Some things are sacred at "Le Bistrot", whether it be the visual aspect of the dishes, the friendly atmosphere, quality of the dishes served, taste, value for money or the kitchen brigade. Character is everything...

Ludovic Bernard

Head Baker

He likes his bread pure – made with flour, salt, water and yeast to be precise - and defends his "ideology of good bread" with passion. Ludovic isn't just a run-of-the-mill baker: this genuine artisan fashions Château de Berne's bread and pastries every day and cultivates a taste for simple pleasures.

Trained by talented Companions, Ludovic is a happy and lucky man. "I'm really at my best here. I've got time to create and explore my profession to the full". He works with living produce, using only the finest raw ingredients. And he never stops reinventing himself. His creativity knows no bounds: his homemade sourdough bread with its slightly acidic taste is the perfect partner to the selection of cheeses served at "Le Jardin de Berne*". He's created a new bread too, made with grapes from the estate. His, two-tone, stuffed croissants testify to his abundant imagination. Day after day, he plays with natural leaven, a living organism that accompanies the dough and anticipates the whims of the flour. His gestures are precise, sharp and never mundane.

 From breakfast to dinner at "Le Jardin de Berne*", Ludovic's breads beckon to foodies and dance with Chef Louis Rameau's daring dishes. 

Les Tables du Chef
An unforgettable dining experience
Le Jardin de Berne
An exceptional Michelin-starred restaurant
La Terrasse de Berne
A gastronomic eatery with views over the vines

Les chefs

leurs visions et engagements

Louis Rameau

Chef Le Jardin de Berne*

 « Au Château de Berne, la nature règne en maître et c’est aussi l’une des valeurs les plus importantes dans ma cuisine. Tous les jours, la cueillette du potager nous permet de proposer un plat où nous sublimons les produits de notre récolte. Ils sont à leur apogée, il suffit de les agrémenter simplement et l’on obtient un plat au plus proche de la nature. »

Pour cet amoureux de la nature, le Château de Berne est un terrain de jeu sans limites, riche et inspirant. Arrivé dans les cuisines de Berne en avril 2016 avant d’en prendre la direction début 2020, Louis Rameau y exprime tout son talent et sa créativité à travers une cuisine simple et authentique, magnifiant produits locaux et art de vivre provençal.

Au Château de Berne, il s’épanouit au contact de la nature et se donne pour ambition de sublimer ce qu’elle offre de meilleur. Il y a les jardins, le potager, les légumes et les fruits, toute cette diversité, ce végétal local cultivé en bio, que l’on retrouve à la carte du Jardin de Berne* au gré des saisons. Une proximité qui ravit le Chef et lui permet de laisser libre cours à son imagination : le pistil de safran du Haut-Var se joint à l’assiette un jour, quand un vinaigre du Piémont vient exalter toutes les saveurs d’un plat le lendemain. « J’essaie de faire aussi bien que la nature, si possible mieux, mais généralement c’est là où ça se complique » avoue-t-il avec un large sourire. Pour Louis, qui a une conception collective du succès, la notion de respect est primordiale dans sa cuisine. Il y veille.

Eric Raynal

Chef Pâtissier

 « Petit je souhaitais être conducteur de train, mais au final, je ne suis pas si éloigné. J’essaie de faire voyager avec comme destination le plaisir culinaire.»

Celui qui avoue avoir toujours secrètement rêvé de travailler au Château de Berne s’y est taillé une place de choix en seulement quelques années et est devenu l’un de ses contributeurs les plus inspirés. Il ne lui aura fallu d’ailleurs qu’une saison, en 2016, avant d’être promu Chef Pâtissier et prouver ainsi « qu’en travaillant tout est possible ».

 Du très convivial « Bistrot » au raffiné « Jardin de Berne* », il règne sur le sucré et s’évertue à respecter l’esprit des lieux, la nature et le jardin. Amoureux du terroir, Éric privilégie les produits issus du domaine, où il n’a d’ailleurs pas hésité à planter des agrumes atypiques : combava, citron caviar, cédrat, il repousse les limites de sa créativité et de la gourmandise, et avec elles celles des producteurs locaux. « Légèreté en sucre, force en goût, mes desserts suivent le rythme des saisons et celui de notre potager » explique ce chef intransigeant à la tête d’une équipe de pâtissiers, pas de cuisiniers, « cela fait une vraie différence dans le rendu final » se réjouit-il. 

 2020 marque la consécration pour Éric, nommé lauréat dans la sélection « Passion Dessert » du Guide Michelin.

Matthieu Wanlin

Chef du Bistrot

 Le Bistrot est orchestré par le Chef Matthieu Wanlin depuis le 1er mars 2017. Ayant à cœur de transmettre les mêmes émotions qui lui ont donné envie de faire ce métier, il y propose une cuisine du terroir généreuse et classique que l’on aime partager.

 Il rejoint le Château de Berne en avril 2016 et y apporte sa vision de la gastronomie, « traditionnelle et régionale mais avec quelques touches exotiques ». Ses inspirations, Matthieu les puisent au cœur de la nature. Il met un point d’honneur à valoriser les produits qu’il récolte chaque matin et s’engage contre le gaspillage alimentaire « rien ne se perd, tout se transforme » professe-t-il avec ferveur. Sa signature, c’est aussi son dressage. Les assiettes mettent en scène produits frais, couleurs éclatantes et arômes inspirants. Au Bistrot du Château de Berne, on ne badine pas avec la présentation. Ni avec la convivialité. L’atmosphère, la qualité des assiettes servies, le goût, le rapport qualité-prix, l’équipe, voilà toute l’identité de ce lieu.

Ludovic Bernard

Chef boulanger

 Le pain, il l’aime pur. De farine, de sel, d’eau et de levure, très exactement. Voilà « son idéologie du bon pain », celle qu’il défend depuis toujours avec passion, sans concessions. Ludovic n’est pas un boulanger comme les autres : au Château de Berne, ce véritable artisan façonne quotidiennement le pain et les viennoiseries, et cultive le goût d’un bonheur simple.

 Formé au talent des Compagnons, Ludovic est un homme heureux et chanceux « Je peux m’appliquer. J’ai le temps de créer. Je peux pleinement exercer mon métier. », confesse-t-il. Il travaille la matière vivante, n’utilise que des matériaux nobles et ne cesse de se réinventer. Aucun frein à sa créativité : son pain au levain maison au léger goût acide sied merveilleusement à la sélection de fromages servis au Jardin de Berne*. Il en a conçu un autre, à base de raisins du domaine. Ses croissants, bicolores et garnis, témoignent de son imagination foisonnante. Jour après jour, il joue avec son levain naturel, être vivant qui accompagne la pâte, anticipe les caprices de la farine. Les gestes sont précis, affûtés, jamais répétitifs.

 Du petit-déjeuner au dîner au Jardin de Berne* les pains de Ludovic subliment les plats du chef Louis Rameau et ouvrent l’appétit des gourmets aguerris. 

Tables du chef
Un dîner inoubliable
Le Jardin de Berne
Un restaurant étoilé d'exception
La terrasse de Berne
Un restaurant gastronomique avec vue sur les vignes